The Inauguration

My reaction to the inauguration…

The following words are my thoughts that I wrote immediately after watching the inauguration. I felt a big mix of emotions, and I promptly wrote them out. Here they are:

“I just watched the inauguration of our 45th president of the United States of America. The last time I watched the inauguration, I was a sophomore in high school, now I am a sophomore in college and my views are different than they were.

I know this sounds cheesy, but I teared up during the national anthem. I felt a surge of patriotism that I haven’t experienced in awhile towards the freedom we have as a country. Hearing the band play the national anthem and listening to scriptures being quoted gave me chills. Whether one agrees with what President Trump said in his speech, be thankful we don’t have to live under the rule of a monarch. We are free in this country.

After studying abroad in Europe last semester and learning about the way other countries work, I have a whole new appreciation for the adventurers and brave people that had a dream to start a new country where the people controlled it.

That being said, however you may feel at the now 45th President Donald Trump, pray for him. Pray that God will open his heart to God’s plans.

Also, we need to remember that we, the people, are the difference makers. It’s up to us to stand up for what we believe, and it’s up to us to get out there and change the world.

Let’s gather together and be the United States of America.
Bind us together, Lord.”

Leave a Reply

