New Beginnings

Is it just me?

Am I one of the only people in the world who has never even been out of the country at the age of nineteen? Surely not, right? While this feat may not be that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things, for someone who has longed to travel the world for as long as imaginable, barely traveling around the U.S. was a big deal for me. To travel the world for the first time this summer meant I was crossing leaps and bounds in many important and various ways.

For about the whole month of June, I went on a mission trip with Global Outreach (GO) from my university to Tasmania and Vanuatu. I honestly didn’t even know that Tasmania (which is in Australia)  was a real place and upon arriving in Vanuatu I learned that it’s so beautiful there that the place itself almost looks unreal, and now I cannot even fathom never traveling to those places. Going on that mission trip and meeting people that I cannot imagine not meeting and not knowing has always been apart of my life, I just didn’t know it yet. Looking back on my life (especially in high school), I can totally pick out multiple moments where God was preparing me for the mission trip, which makes me wonder what moments will I look back on in the future to realize He was preparing me for.

I am eternally grateful to have traveled and fellowshipped with such sweet and precious people that I will never forget, and I know that one day I will be reunited to fellowship, sing, and laugh so I am not worried. I want to say more about one the most unforgettable time of my life, but mere words cannot describe how I feel or at least I don’t think words could even begin to do justice to what I saw and what I felt and what I experienced, but I will definitely go into more detail about the trip if anyone wants to know!

As for the future…

Today I know that I am about to embark on another journey of a lifetime, and I hope that y’all will come along. I may not realize the full extent of everything and every meaning of this trip, but it’s somewhere that I have dreamed of going for as long as I can remember. And even though this studying abroad program to Europe isn’t a mission trip, I still want to treat everyday life as a mission for God, and what a great opportunity to travel and spread Jesus’s love! I hope to gain more self-confidence, more cultural knowledge, and more friendships on this trip, and as I am sure so many family and friends have heard me say, “I AM SO EXCITED!!!”

xoxo, 

Abbey Watson 

p.s. I’ll catch up with y’all in Iceland 🙂

Leave a Reply

